Departmental Philosophy
Artist In Residence
Current Student Work

Click here for a look around the Sculpture Department


Visiting Artists

Mike Andrews
Janine Antoni
Polly Apfelbaum

Diane Armitage
Matthew Barney
Dike Blair
Lee Boroson
Vicky Clark
Bonnie Collura
Lucky deBellevue
Cheryl Donegan

Maria Elena Gonzalez
Michelle Grabner
Dan Graham
Gregory Green
Tom Friedman
Kirby Gookin
Harmony Hammond
Amy Hauft
Joe Havel
Oliver Herring
Corin Hewitt
Nancy Hwang
Roni Horn
Tishan Hsu
Matthew Day Jackson
Kristen Jones and Andrew Ginzel
Kelly Kaczynski
Ron Leax
Donald Lipski
Mary Lucier
Liz Magore

Virgil Marti
Tony Matelli
Matthew McCaslin
Amie McNeel
Ann Messner
Marilyn Minter
John Newman
Daniel Oates
Pepon Osorio
Rona Pondick
John Powers
Ernesto Pujol
Charles Ray
Jack Risley
Mika Rottenburg
Jeanne Silverthorne
Jill Slossburg-Ackerman

Allison Smith

Buzz Spector
Jessica Stockholder
Rikrit Tiravanija
Lindsay Walt
Meg Webster
Daniel Wiener



Visiting Critics

Departmental Philosophy

The Academy functions as a creative bell jar, an environment to explore, define, and develop potential. The process of questioning is the personal conduit to the comprehension of our social, political, and moral environment. Sculpture is produced through the continual evolution between idea and form that embodies this spirit of inquiry. The Sculpture Department can be defined as an attempt to instigate changing perceptual experiences through three dimensions. The intent is to learn about one’s own work through criticism, dialogue, and interaction with individuals pursuing related goals with equal intensity. Artists work within a context delineated by the cultural, ideological, and political systems of their time. A critical grasp of historical issues and iconography is essential to extend and provoke the parameters of contemporary art.


Catron 02
Jennifer Catron
A Feat of Extraordinary Nature: The Ballad of Newnimals and Vegemals, 2009
Performance, Newnimals - taxidermied ram, goat, bear, deer (all modified), Vegemals - hybrids of mice and plastic vegetables, 156” x 120” x 144”


The departmental emphasis is upon studio production with a full-time commitment to the expansion of ideas. The curriculum centers around individual and group critiques with the head of the department, visiting artists, curators, and critics. All students are given reading and writing assignments, to research and explore contemporary art issues. These readings and writings mirror issues raised by visiting artists, the Artists-in-Residence, and student concerns.


Image 1

Hyeon Jung Kim
Untitled, 2013
512 found assembly hooks, industrial basket, shirts, TV, shain, steel, 13' X 6' X 16'


Image 1

Russell Borne
Thank You Roni Horn, 2013
Video installation, wood

Outlaw 01
Paul Outlaw
Paul’s Bodega, 2008
Performance, Convenience Store Products and Equipment, 9’ x 8’ x 5’

Image 1
Erin Shapiro
Performance still, Variable dimensions


The Sculpture Department is housed in a 6,500 square foot complex, comprised of individual studio spaces and shared work facilities. Equipment for metal fabrication includes M.I.G., T.I.G., Arc and oxy-acetylene welders, hydraulic shear, brake, slip roller, and pneumatic tools.

In 1999, new facilities were built within the Sculpture courtyard to provide a safe environment for the experimentation of epoxies and polyester resins, fiberglass, and plastics. Two 12’ x 15’ cross draft booths, equipped with outside air breathing systems, are part of this facility. Wood construction is also easily accomplished due to the department’s direct proximity to the Academy Woodshop.

Image 2

Bonnie Brenda Scott
Holy Family, 2013
Room installation


Image 2
Andrew Schmidt
Frequency Chamber, 2013
POSCA Paint Markers on Wall, Marker, Pen and Ink on Paper, Magnets, Nails

Image 2
Jamie Solock
video installation

Image 2
Evelyn Lewis
Drop Your Nets, 2013 
Ceramic figurines, plastic mesh produce bags, rope, string, 6 X 9’