< Back to Press Room

Cranbrook Academy of Art Announces Student Awards

May 15th, 2021

CAA campus building exterior with fountainBloomfield Hills, Mich., May 14, 2021 – As Cranbrook Academy of Art concludes the 2020-21 academic year, we are pleased to announce several awards presented to our students. The awards are all designed to support study at the Academy and aid our 2021 graduates in transitioning from student to practicing artist. We are grateful to the individuals and organizations who continue to see the importance of supporting today’s artists, architects, and designers.

The Robert C. Larson Venture Award was given to current Academy students: Ryan David (Architecture ’22) which will allow him to attend a three-month residency at Arcosanti, an urban laboratory in Arizona; Jo Lobdell (Sculpture ’22) will attend a natural dye, ink, and pigment intensive at the Peters Valley School of Craft in New Jersey; Meirav Ong (Fiber ’22) will attend a summer residency at the 2021 Chautauqua School of Art; Ed Ryan (2D Design ’22) will use the funds to establish a one-month pop-up art space in Brooklyn; Yuming Song (3D Design ’21) will attend a residency at Talking Dolls in Detroit, and Claire Thibodeau (Ceramics ’22) will take two introductory business courses this summer to learn how to launch her own studio and business in Detroit. The shared award of $5,600 recognizes and supports the work of innovative and inspired Academy students. The endowment fund was established by Bonnie Larson, Patron and former Board of Governor of the Academy and Art Museum, to celebrate Robert C. Larson’s commitment to Cranbrook. Larson was a long-time volunteer leader and donor at Cranbrook and served as the Chair of the Board of Trustees from 1996–2002. He was also a member of the Board of Governors of the Academy and Art Museum from 1986–2000.

The 2021 Museum Purchase Award was presented to Dessislava Terzieva, a 2021 graduate of the Sculpture Department, for her work, Physics of Sorrow. Terzieva’s work was selected for purchase by the Museum Committee. Her work will be accessioned into the permanent collection of Cranbrook Art Museum. The Museum Committee also elected to purchase the work of A.F. Oehmke (2D Design ’21) and Zahra Almajidi (Metalsmithing ’21), which will also be accessioned into the museum’s permanent collection. Work by all three artists is on view at Cranbrook Art Museum as part of the 2021 Graduate Degree Exhibition.

The Ox-Bow Summer Scholarship was awarded to Jing-Ying (Michelle) Su (Architecture ’22). She will receive funding to take a two-week class through the Ox-Bow summer school program based in Saugatuck, Michigan.

The Ox-Bow Summer Residency was awarded to Gabriela Gutierrez (Ceramics ’22), which will provide full access to all facilities and artists at Ox-Bow during the three-week course period.

The Gallery A Award was presented to Mieyoshi Ragernoir, a first-year student in the Painting Department. This award provides funding for a student to exhibit their work in the entry space in the Academy of Art Administration office. The award recipient is selected by the student-led Studio Council and the Academy Director.

The Meredith Beau CAA ’97 and Scott Beau Materials Fund was awarded to first-year students Ryan David (Architecture ’22), Leo Gong (4D Design ’22), Merel Noorlander (4D Design ’22), Meirav Ong (Fiber ’22), Ed Ryan (2D Design ’22), Claire Thibodeau (Ceramics ’22), and second-year student Elysia Vandenussche (Ceramics ’22). This gift is to assist students in any discipline with purchasing materials.

The Cranbrook Educational Community President’s Award was established by Cranbrook’s President, Dominic DiMarco. It recognizes those artists engaged in environmental sustainability projects. The $1,500 award will be split between three students this year: Mitch Frank, a first-year student in the Fiber Department; Jo Lobdell, a first-year student in the Sculpture Department; and Ian Torres McLaughlin, a 2021 graduate of the Painting Department.

The Academy Director’s Award was awarded to Zahra Almajidi, a 2021 graduate of the Metalsmithing Department. The Director’s Award recognizes excellence throughout two years of study at the Academy.

About Cranbrook Academy of Art
Cranbrook Academy of Art is the country’s top-ranked, graduate-only program in architecture, design, and fine art. Each year, just 75 students are invited to study and live on our landmark Saarinen-designed campus, which features private studios, state-of-the-art workshops, a renowned Art Museum, and 300 acres of forests, lakes, and streams, all a short drive from the art, design, and music scene of Detroit. The focus at Cranbrook is on studio practice in one of 11 disciplines: Architecture, 2D, 3D, and 4D Design, Ceramics, Fiber, Metalsmithing, Painting, Photography, Print Media, and Sculpture. The program is anchored by celebrated Artists- and Designers-in-Residence, one for each discipline, all of whom live and practice on campus alongside our students. For more information, visit us at cranbrookart.edu. campus alongside our students. For more information, visit us at cranbrookart.edu.

Media Contact:
Julie Fracker
Director of Communications
Cranbrook Academy of Art